You are here : > HOME > WHAT IS AEPO-ARTIS > The organisation > Short presentation  Print pageAddress - Phone number - Fax numberEmail  
 +  The organisation

Short presentation :

The Association of European Performers’ Organisations, AEPO, was founded in Brussels on 20 May 1994. AEPO merged with ARTIS in November 2004. The new organisation is called the Association of European Performers’ Organisations, AEPO-ARTIS.

AEPO-ARTIS represents 35 European performers’ collective management organisations from 26 countries, 23 of which are established in Member States of the EU. The other countries represented are Norway, Serbia and Switzerland.

In most countries performers’ rights are collectively managed for both performers who are members and those who are not members of the collective management organisation. Thus globally, the number of performers represented by the 34 member organisations of AEPO-ARTIS can be estimated between 400.000 and 500.000.

The membership of the Association is made up of the following collecting societies:

Austria: LSG
Belgium: PlayRight
Croatia: HUZIP
Czech Republic: INTERGRAM
Denmark: GRAMEX and FILMEX
Finland: GRAMEX
Germany: GVL
Hungary: EJI
Ireland: RAAP
Italy: Nuovo IMAIE
Latvia: LAIPA
Lithuania: AGATA
The Netherlands: NORMA and SENA
Norway: GRAMO
Poland: SAWP and STOART
Portugal: GDA
Serbia: PI
Slovakia: OZIS and SLOVGRAM
Slovenia: AIPA and IPF
Spain: AIE and AISGE
United Kingdom: BECS

The objectives of AEPO-ARTIS, which is a non-profit making organisation, are:
- to develop and secure wider recognition of the collective administration of performers' rights;
- to further develop collaboration between performers' organisations at a European level in the field of performers' rights and in the collective administration of these rights;
- to contribute to highlighting the importance of the protection of performers and of the collective administration of their rights;
- to further develop cooperation on European and international agreements, with a special interest in clauses relating to collecting practices.

The Association of European Performers' Organisations has been involved in the PHARE and TACIS programmes of the European Commission, which promote cooperation and offer assistance on intellectual property issues in Central and Eastern European countries and in Russia.

AEPO-ARTIS works, both directly or via its members, on items of national legislation as well as on the content of European directives and international instruments in the field of intellectual property rights.

Since its foundation, the Association has closely followed discussions on new European directives issuing its own legal analyses both in the course of and after such debates.

The Association of European Performers' Organisations participated actively in the WIPO Diplomatic Conferences of December 1996 - where the WIPO Copyright Treaty (WCT) and the WIPO Performances and Phonograms Treaty (WPPT) were adopted - and the WIPO Diplomatic Conference of June 2012 where the Beijing Audiovisual Performances Treaty was adopted. The Association also participates in the meetings of the WIPO Standing Committee on Copyright and Related Rights.

As an NGO with observer status, it takes part in all important WIPO meetings with intellectual property rights relevance.

AEPO-ARTIS has also been granted observer status at the inter-governmental committee of the International Convention for the Protection of Performers, Producers of Phonograms and Broadcasting Organisations (Rome Convention).

Any national organisation in Europe that participates in the collective administration of performers' rights may apply to be admitted as a member of AEPO-ARTIS.

  Print pageBackTop