AEPO-ARTIS co-signs the Film/AV sector DSA Trilogue Statement

AEPO-ARTIS co-signs the Film/AV sector DSA Trilogue Statement

AEPO-ARTIS co-signs the Film/AV sector DSA Trilogue Statement

Film/AV sector regrets that the European Parliament missed the opportunity to make the Internet a safer space for everyone.

The undersigned organisations representing the creative and business communities of the film and audiovisual sector in Europe regret that the European Parliament plenary vote on

the Digital Services Act failed to achieve the stated goal of making internet intermediaries more accountable and creating a safer, better-functioning online environment for everyone. Although the European Parliament intended to broaden the KYBC provision to apply to all online intermediaries, the due diligence obligations remain too weak and narrow. Critical elements, such as the immediate removal of illegal content and an enforceable trusted flagger mechanism should be improved in the upcoming trilogue negotiations.

We encourage the EU co-legislators to show ambition and to ensure that the final DSA does not represent a step backwards neither in terms of the fight against illegal content online, nor by granting additional, unwarranted liability exemptions to online intermediaries.

The EU institutions should now deliver on the political ambition of ensuring that what is illegal offline is illegal online.


ACT – Association of Commercial Television and VoD Services in Europe
AEPO-ARTIS – European Association of Performers Organisations
ANICA – Associazione Nazionale Industrie Cinematografiche Audiovisive e Digitali Animation Europe – Federation of Animation Producers Associations
CICAE – International Confederation of Art Cinemas
CEPI – European Audiovisual Production Association
CEPIC – Center of the Picture Industry
Eurocinema – Association de producteurs de cinéma et de télévision
Europa Distribution – European Network of Independent Film Publishers and Distributors Fedicine – Federación de Distribuidores Cinematográficos
FERA – Federation of European Screen Directors
FIA – International Federation of Actors
FIAD – International Federation of Film Distributors’ and Publishers’ Associations
FIAPF – International Federation of Film Producers Associations
FIM – International Federation of Musicians
FSE – Federation of Screenwriters in Europe
GESAC – The European Authors’ Societies
IFTA – Independent Film & Television Alliance
IVF – International Video Federation
MPA – Motion Picture Association
SAA – Society of Audiovisual Authors
SPIO – Spitzenorganisation der Filmwirtschaft e.V.
SROC – Sports Rights Owners Coalition
UNIC – International Union of Cinemas
UNI MEI – Global Union – Media, Entertainment & Arts
Vaunet – Verband Privater Medien e.V.